Summers Desire by Kathleen Ball

4 Stars for Summers Desire; Book l of the Cowboy Series.

Everyone has a past; some are darker than others.

Young veterinarian, Holden O`Leary, has fled difficult circumstances  in Texas and moved his four younger brothers, Mathew, Mark, Luke, and John to ranch near a small town in Montana.  This is where they will build a new life for themselves, far from the ugliness of the past.  Holden places an ad for a nanny/housekeeper to look after the domestic chores while he works as a vet.

Summer Fitzgerald is running from the demons of her own when she shows up at the ranch in answer to the job opportunity.  Imagine her shock when she realises that the boys she is going to be nanny to are not small children, but strapping young males who range in age from adolescence to late teens.  The nanny role goes out the window quickly and she gradually becomes their friend and confidant.

The attraction between Holden and Summer is strong, but just when you think they`ve finally got it all together something else would come up.

All the characters are well rounded, the plot is complex and twists and turns as their pasts come back to haunt them.

If you enjoy simmering cowboy romances, with a strong dash of family drama, murder, robbery and suspense don`t miss this book.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.

You can buy Summer’s Desire on Amazon


Autums Hope by Kathleen Ball


5 Stars for Autumn’s Hope Book 2 of Cowboy Seasons Series.

by Kathleen Ball

Autumn Lavin moves from the big city to small town Carlston, Montana to start over again.  She is pregnant and on her own.  Determined to make a life for herself and her child, she buys the local Bar and Grill and sinks everything she has into it.

It has been the watering hole for beef eating, booze guzzling locals for decades, and they expect that she will carry on the tradition.  But Autumn shakes up the entire town when she put out the word that she plans to turn it into a vegetarian restaurant with a juice bar. That idea is almost an insult to the locals, who think she is plain loco to try to do this in the heart of Montana beef country.  In fact a few people are determined to stop her.

Amongst them is Jonas Barnes, who has a contract with the restaurant to supply it with beef from his ranch and has been counting on the sale of that beef to make ends meet.  He is defensive when he heads into town to see if she will honor the agreement.

The two of them butt heads on that first meeting, but neither can forget the other.  Jonas is a fair man and when the towns’ busy body calls a meeting in an effort to shut down Autumns plans, astonishingly, he speaks up and supports her right to do what she wants with the business she has purchased.

Jonas has insecurities of his own; war wounds that make him certain that no woman could love him.  But he`s never met a woman like Autumn before.

Can she make a vegetarian restaurant and juice bar work in a most unlikely place?  Could Jonas accept another man’s child?  Could Autumn see beyond the scars that war left Jonas with?  You`ll have to read the book to find out.

I loved the story of Autumn and Jonas.  Don`t miss this wonderful read.

You can purchase Autumn’s Hope on Amazon


Winters Embrace by Kathleen Ball

4 Stars for Winter’s Embrace

I ‘ve read Summer’s Desire, Autumn’s Hope and Winter’s Embrace—I’ve become a Kathleen Ball fan!  Like the other books, Winter’s Embrace doesn’t hinge on the “will he get the girl, will she get her man” line.  She creates a depth to her characters that makes you relate to the fact that they have lived; and often their lives haven’t always been happy or satisfactory.  They are flawed, but feel realistic which is important to me.

Winter and Stone aren’t strangers—they loved each other years ago.  Stone left her without giving her a valid explanation, leaving her shattered and broken hearted. When he comes back into her life, she almost immediately finds herself out of a job.  He offers her employment looking after Rachel, who is his little girl.  Rachel is a bubbly, happy, wonderful little girl who steals Winters heart.  Stone still loves Winter, but time and again she learns that he has deceived her once more.  Even though she has never gotten over her love for him, she comes to believe she cannot trust him, and without trust a broken heart will surely be her lot.

Rachel desperately wants a mother, and she wants Winter to make her family complete, but Winter can’t take the chance of being so desperately hurt again.

Stone is constantly taking two steps forward and one back.  He has his work cut out for him.  Like many men, he can only see what he wants and his desperation makes him do things that push her even further away.

Don’t miss Winters Embrace.

It can be purchased on Amazon